[BPI-R2] SD card image with Openwrt 19.07 imgbuilder

Hello!

I would like to ask for some guidance, because I can’t reach my goal which is the following. I have a BPI-R2 and an 1Gbps connection from my ISP. I experienced that the download bandwidth with the latest SNAPSHOT (21.02) are around 600Mbps. But with a prebuilt image (downloaded from Frankw Drive folder and from an other Sinovoip shared folder) which is 19.07 the download speed goes up to 900Mbps. From this point of view the prebuilt ones would meet my requirement, but the RAM amount is 1GB instead of 2GB. So I was trying to clone 19.07 imagebuilder from Openwrt github repo and make an own image. This imgbuilder contains no ‘Boot loaders’ in menuconfig, therefore I get no image file that I could write to SD card (while 21.02 has this). I am not an expert in the way the whole procedure is built and the kernel is compiled, so if anyone could help me out in this matter, I would really appreciate it.

Thanks in advance! pjes2

I guess cpu is limiting as you may use nat,right?

So you can tune at 2 positions:

• change cpu_affinity for ethernet irqs
  • activate hwnat (kernel 5.15+ if openwrt supports this),but i guess openwrt is still at 5.10

In OpenWrt we got hwnat backported to Linux 5.10 and also @frank-w’s patch enabling it on MT7623. However, you have to use nightly snapshots of the main development tree (not 21.02-SNAPSHOT) in order to get to enjoy that as 21.02 is using Linux 5.4.

Thanks for your suggestions!

@frank-w on my eMMC I have r18454 (coming with 5.10.88) and tried to change the affinity: echo 4 > /proc/irq/51/smp_affinity echo 4 > /proc/irq/52/smp_affinity after this values appeared on CPU2 (before changing only CPU0 had any), but the speedtest results did not increased. 51: 60662 0 161953 0 MT_SYSIRQ 199 Level 1b100000.ethernet 52: 67423 0 168018 0 MT_SYSIRQ 198 Level 1b100000.ethernet