Unable to boot OpenWRT BPI-R2 PRO

Hello everyone,

Sorry for my english, I’m a rookie in this world and I’m finding a lot of problems trying to install OpenWRT imagein the R2 PRO.

Basically, at first I was able to install it and I worked with it but after some mistakes I made with the network configuration I wipe the emmc to install OpenWRT again and this is where all the problems began. The tutorials from the “Getting Started” page don’t work anymore:

• When I try to install from SD card with the “update.img” the android image appears and some messages prompts like “installing boot/ installing recovery/ installing userdata” and finally appears the message to remove the SD card (as in the picture below) and then reboots and it gets stuck in the bpi logo.

• The same happens with the RKDevTool: i tried flashing the update.img, and also with the EMMC boot files in maskroom and loader mode (this last case after installing Armbian or Ubuntu). After installing it, no error message nowhere, “Download image OK” promtps but then it reboots and gets stuck in the bpi logo again.

I was able to install Armbian with and SD card and then moving it to the EMMC and I was able to install Ubuntu mate with the EMMC boot files and instructions from “Getting Started” and the Usb Download Tool.

I’m stuck now and I don’t have the knowledge to either find the problem or try to make a custum image or edit boot or anything. Please, can someone point me in the right direction?

Afaik openwrt does not support r2pro so will be stuck in an out-of-date system using the bpi image. Imho it is not worth the work.

You can look in my repos and wiki if you find something useful

https://wiki.fw-web.de/doku.php?id=en:bpi-r2pro:start