No chance to disable/hide boot messages on Raspbian

I’m running Raspbian (2022-05-25-raspios-bullseye-arm64-hdmi-edid-bpi-m5-m2pro-sd-emmc.img.xz) and it has the best boot times. For my usage as embedded device I need to deactivate or at least hide all the boot messages. Usually this is very simple by defining another tty console in /boot/cmdline.txt.

Changing “tty1” to “tty2” or “tty3” or something else in this line does not have any effect:

console=serial0,115200 console=tty1 root=PARTUUID=1d124286-02 rootfstype=ext4 fsck.repair=yes rootwait quiet init=/usr/lib/raspberrypi-sys-mods/firstboot splash plymouth.ignore-serial-consoles systemd.run=/boot/firstrun.sh systemd.run_success_action=reboot systemd.unit=kernel-command-line.target

I would be grateful for any hint.

But I’m also open to any other solution as long as the boot time into a full-screen headless browser is less than 25s on a BPI M5.

I’m not a Linux expert, but if I understand it correctly, the bootloader is independent from the OS used, so I assume that the bootloader used here simply ignores the arguments in cmdline.txt. There seems to be a custom configuration in /boot/boot/boot.ini. These are the first lines:

bananapi_m5-UBOOT-CONFIG

# Default Console Device Setting
setenv condev "console=tty1 console=ttyS0,115200n8"   # on both

When I change it to tty2, some output goes to tty2. The first about 2s of boot messages are still sent to tty1 (and /boot/cmdline.txt is being ignored completeley).

https://www.armbian.com/

https://www.armbian.com/

I knew this will be your answer Igor :wink:

Have already tried armbian. Armbian has a slightly longer boot time, it also didn’t boot into desktop environment and I certainly didn’t manage to get chromium running (preferably headless without a desktop environment but requiring video playback).