Different MAC Address Shown on Banana Pi M5

Hi everyone,

I’m new to using Banana Pi M5 and I’m facing an issue with the MAC address. I’m using the OS image (OS Image: 2023-05-03-raspios-bullseye-arm64-bpi-m5-m2pro-sd-emmc.img.xz).

The problem is that the actual MAC address of my Pi seems to be different from the one displayed by the operating system. I’ve checked the physical sticker on the device and it shows a different address compared to what I see in the OS settings.

I’ve searched for solutions related to MAC address randomization, but it doesn’t seem to be the case here.

I’m wondering if anyone has encountered a similar issue on the Banana Pi M5 with this particular OS image.

• Is there a way to confirm if the OS is reading a software-configured address instead of the one stored in the EEPROM?
  • Are there any recommended solutions to force the OS to use the original MAC address?

Any insights or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Alina

How did you get the actual MAC address and the mac displayed by the operating system?

Thanks for following up on my query. Here’s a detailed explanation of the steps I took to identify the different MAC address issues: Finding the Original MAC Address I retrieved the original MAC address directly from the sticker along with my Banana Pi M5.

I employed various commands to verify the MAC address displayed by the operating system: ifconfig ip link show cat /sys/class/net/eth0/address sudo ethtool -P eth0 These commands consistently revealed the same MAC address: 00:15:18:01:81:31.

Examining Configuration Files: To ensure the OS wasn’t assigning the MAC address manually, I inspected the following configuration files using sudo nano: /etc/dhcpcd.conf /etc/network/interfaces Neither file contained any entries suggesting a manual MAC address assignment.