[BPI-R3] Just got a bpi-r3 and having trouble setting it up

Hello. I’m a newbie around here, and I’m having trouble with this device.

So far, I followed the instructions in here: Banana Pi BPI-R3 - Banana Pi Wiki

The getting started page describes how to boot from an sd card, so I burned the openwrt image fom the mentioned link, adjusted the bootstrap pins all up, inserted the card and turned on the device. However, nothing happens and it just stays with the red pwr led on. After a while, I managed to connect to it via uart to get the output below:

F0: 102B 0000
FA: 1040 0000
FA: 1040 0000 [0200]
F9: 103F 0000
F3: 1001 0000 [0200]
F3: 1001 0000
F6: 300C 0028
F5: 4801 0000
00: 1005 0000
FA: 1040 0000
FA: 1040 0000 [0200]
F9: 103F 0000
F3: 1001 0000 [0200]
F3: 1001 0000
F6: 300C 0028
01: 102A 0001
02: 1005 0000
BP: 2000 00C0 [0001]
EC: 0000 0000 [3000]
T0: 0000 01A5 [010F]
System halt!

I also noticed that I can boot to nand and that the device came with some sort of openwrt install on it. However, that system won’t keep any configurations I do after reboot. I tried booting to that system, accessing it via ssh as root and following the tutorial in the wiki for writing an image to emmc. But there are no /dev/mmcblk0boot0 or /dev/mmcblk0 in there.

I’m really lost here on how to proceed. Can someone help me? I just want to run openwrt or other OS image on the device.

Thanks in advance,

Either your sdcard is not supported or something in the image is broken…try to reflash the unpacked image

I tried reflashing and using another sdcard, but got the same issue. I also tried using F3 to test both of them, and they seem to be ok. Still, they’re a bit old… I didn’t know some sdcards aren’t supported, can this be the case?

In a way, I’m as new as you are … . But I have an scientific view on such topics.