[BPI-R3] Brand new Pi BPI-R3 - no output visible on the USB TTL console

Hello All,

I am a newbie around the new banana OpenWRT router, bought this one and wanted to make some fun. My last experience with OpenWRT was on Linksys WRT54G, so it was ages ago;)

I have bought the router, installed all of the antennas, placed the board into the case then interconnected the USB to TTL and wanted to start the configuration. Unfortunately besides of the red light on the PWR led and (if pins are set all UP - to run from SD Card) G led nothing is lighting up. Fan is running on for around 30 seconds and then stops.

I have bought 2 kind of USB to TTL as my initial idea was that the console connection is broken. Unfortunately using both consoles I have not seen any response from TTL. I have tried numerous of things, like setting different speed ports, tried all of the pin configurations and it does not make any difference. I used default parameters for connection - 8N1 (Data Bit - 8, Parity - None and Stop Bit set to 1). When I input a char from the keyboard I can see the Tx led lighted on the USB to TTL. I have also tried to swap the Txd with Rxd with no change.

I have been able to flash the SD card with the different images, but I would expect to have any output on the console.

Following guides have been used as a reference: https://wiki.banana-pi.org/Getting_Started_with_BPI-R3

How to Setup Banana Pi R3 with OpenWRT | by Flow | Medium.

Does anyone have any idea how to start a deeper troubleshooting as I am out of ideas at this point?

Thanks for any input from anyone!

115200 baud 8n1 is the correct setting,make sure ttl level is 3v3, and rx/tx crossed (rx on tx and tx on rx) and gnd connected too. Then you should see at least bootrom,also if image is not flashed correctly.

Which system xact uart adapters doe you have? To prevent wifi issues you should use ftdi or cp2104 (not cp2102)