Banana PI - Network Boot

Hi guys,

I am quite new to Banana PIs but have a lot of experience with Raspberries. Reason why I have obtained a Banana PI is the fact that it provides boards with multiple LAN ports. With the R2 I am planning to replace my Router with an OpenWrt one. The fact that the PI provides 4 LAN ports is even better as I have currently 3 different subnets which I can separate physically also.

Besides the fact that I need to learn how those boards are being fed with software there is one point for which I have not found an answer so far: is it possible to configure the Banana PI to boot from a NFS network mount? All my Raspberries are set up to boot from different folders on a NAS system and I like the fact that I do not need to bother about SD card issues and also the backup/restore is quite easy. How to achieve same/similar setup with a Banana PI and OpenWrt?

Thanks for the help!

Bye

Hello & Welcome to the community,

I see that you have many question but we need to look into it one by one. From my experience with BPI, I dont think there is any way to boot from network

Regarding flashing software to the device it is pretty straight forward, Just to flash it to the sd card or eMMC using the img file from the official Wiki page.

http://wiki.banana-pi.org/Banana_Pi_BPI-R2

1 Like

Hi, you need at least preloader+uboot on local storage (sd/emmc),then you can load linux-kernel (tftp) and rootfs (nfs) via network.on sdcard you need additional bootheaders (sdmmc-boot+brlyt).you can try flashing my debian for first steps (loading kernel from tftp and then rootfs)

I had wrote down my steps quick and dirty in my wiki.

https://www.fw-web.de/dokuwiki/doku.php?id=en:bpi-r2:netboot

My kernel and uboot are prepared for netboot because i often use tftp to load kernel. i tested Rootfs on nfs some time ago but mostly use rootfs on sd

2 Likes

Hi guys,